Home > NFL > 2012 NFL Season Awards Predictions

2012 NFL Season Awards Predictions

A listing of award predictions for the 2012 season plus a b0ttom line call on who will take it all in 2012.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Andrew Luck, Colts

The offensive rookie of the 2012 NFL season will lead his team to a winning record as a rookie, and possibly to a division title.  Andrew Luck is so advanced compared to Robert Griffin III, Doug Martin, Trent Richardson, and Russell Wilson, the three guys who would compete for this award if not for Luck.  The Colts are going to surprise a lot of people this year.  Luck, though, will just be the guy everyone said he would.

Co-Defensive Rookies of the Year: Chandler Jones, DE, New England Patriots; Quinton Coples, DE, New York Jets

I didn’t get to study Chandler Jones until very late in the draft process, but I understood immediately when watching him why people we’re quietly saying he was first round material.  He was actually better than most observers were letting on.  He was top ten material.  So was Coples, who I believed in right from the beginning.  The Jets and Patriots will both make the playoffs behind resurgent defenses in a deceptively difficult division.  For the Patriots, this defensive resurgence will not come a moment too soon as the age of their offensive skill players and upheaval on the offensive line is going to really start catching up to them.

Coach of the Year: Chuck Pagano, Indianapolis Colts

The Colts defense, behind the strength of the 3-4 front, will give Andrew Luck something he can work with on a game to game basis, allowing the Colts to never fall below .500 this season.  Pagano will win coach of the year honors, the second straight year a rookie coach will receive such honors.

Comeback Player of the Year: Kevin Kolb, Arizona Cardinals

Kolb has lost the starting quarterback battle to John Skelton this preseason, but with relatively little competition keeping him off the field, and the Rams sitting on the schedule twice, Kolb is primed to build on last season after Skelton struggles early on in the year.  Kolb has all the tools to be successful, but must take steps forward in his pocket game and on-field demeanor to achieve the levels he is capable of.  The number that will win Kolb this award is 4,000 yards passing in just 13 starts.  The Cardinals are unlikely to improve on last year’s 8 win finish.

Fired coach roll call: Coaches who won’t survive Black Monday

Mike Shanahan, Washington Redskins (resignation – staff changes); Pat Shurmur, Cleveland Browns; Andy Reid, Philadelphia Eagles (mutual resignation/severance); Leslie Frazier, Minnesota Vikings; Norv Turner, San Diego Chargers; Marvin Lewis, Cincinnati Bengals; Gary Kubiak, Houston Texans; Chan Gailey, Buffalo Bills (resignation)

Offensive Player of the Year: Darren McFadden, Oakland Raiders

Though it’s pretty much impossible for a running back to win the MVP now-a-days, the offensive player of the year award still oftentimes goes to a player on offense other than the MVP-winner.  And McFadden is primed for a historic season as the primary beneficiary from all the speed Oakland has on the outside, as well as the lack of trust a conservative OC such as Oakland’s Greg Knapp may have in quarterback Carson Palmer.

Defensive Player of the Year: Brian Orakpo, Washington Redskins

Orakpo has had a sensational start to his career, but that’s been overshadowed by how badly the Redskins have played in his three years in the league.  The Redskins may not be headed for greatness this year, but Orakpo should be good for his first 19 sack season as an NFL star, provided with good health.  Plus, he’s really worked on his coverage the last few years, and that may start paying off with some interception opportunities this season.

Super Bowl MVP: Charles Tillman, Chicago Bears

If a defensive player scores in the super bowl (save Nick Collins two years ago), he’s pretty much winning this award.  Charles Tillman is the best player in the Bears secondary, and I think they have a really good shot of winning it all this year.

Most Valuable Player: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

Once he’s disqualified for coach of the year in the middle of December, Brees will win the league’s MVP honors when he leads the Saints to another playoff berth and double digit win season.

Super Bowl XLVII Result: Chicago Bears 26, Pittsburgh Steelers 17

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: